Theatrical Nominees Announced for 34th Cinematography Awards

1917 Movie
1917 Movie

LOS ANGELES (CNS) – Cinematographers for the films 1917,''Ford v Ferrari,” The Irishman,''Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” and “Joker” were nominated today for the American Society of Cinematographers theatrical achievement award.

The nomination for 1917” cinematographer Roger Deakins is the 16th of his career. He previously won the honor forThe Shawshank Redemption,” The Man Who Wasn’t There,”Skyfall” and “Blade Runner 2049.”

Robert Richardson’s nomination for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” is his 11th, while Phedon Papamichael and Rodrigo Prieto each collected their third career nods forFord v Ferrari” and “The Irishman,” respectively.

Lawrence Sher’s nomination for “Joker” is his first.

For smaller-release films, nominations for the ASC’s Spotlight Award went to Jarin Blaschke, cinematographer for The Lighthouse''; Natasha Braier forHoney Boy”; and Jasper Wolf for “Monos.” They are all first-time nominees.

The 34th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards will be held Jan. 25 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.